Abbey Hey Primary Academy is a part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school.

The Department for Education’s governance handbook identifies the essentials of effective governance as follows:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

United Learning’s Trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB) and these are set out clearly in Appendix 4 to the United Learning LGB Members Handbook, which can be seen on the United Learning website.

School Governors Focus Areas

Governors will aim to spend time with the lead person in school at least once per term and provide a short report at the Governing Board meeting.

Inclusion (LAC/SEND) Helen Tildesley (Tracey Short)
Health and Safety Barry Harrison (Darren Newton - Site Manager)
Safeguarding Catherine Horton-Hale (Tracey Short)
Finance Amanda Whyte (Joanne O’Hara)
Pupil & Sports Premium Karin Connell (Paul Graham)
EYFS Focus Jennifer Rodney (KS Lead - Amanda Eldridge)
KS1 Focus Deirdre Brower-Latz (KS Lead - Kate McDonough)
KS2 Focus Steven Broom (KS Lead - Kylie Losper, Yr 3&4, Emma Westerman Yr 5&6)

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

United Learning